STARTS Prize of the European Commission: Submissions accepted until March 1st 2019

Winners can look forward to prize money of 20,000 euros

20,000 euros will again await the winners of the STARTS Prize 2019. Innovative collaborations and projects at the interface of science, technology and art can be submitted until March 1st. The worldwide Open Call is part of the STARTS Initiative of the European Commission and is issued by Ars Electronica, BOZAR and Waag.

This is an open call for entries in conjunction with an initiative launched by the European Commission: STARTS. The name stands for innovation at the nexus of Science, Technology and the ARTS.

Two prizes - € 20,000 each - will be bestowed this year:

•One for artistic exploration and artworks where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, development, or perception of technology

•One for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts that opens new pathways for innovation.

This competition specifically seeks:

•Trailblazing forms of collaboration and projects essentially characterised by both technology and art; strictly artistically or strictly technologically oriented projects are not what STARTS is looking for.

•Any and all artistic works and practices having to do with innovation in the areas of technology, business and/or society. This competition is not limited to a particular genre such as media art and digital art.

•All forms of technological and scientific research that are inspired by art or in which artists are integrated as catalysts of new ways of seeing things. This includes but is not limited to information & communications technology.

•Artists or artists’ collectives, creative professionals, researchers and companies throughout the world. This competition is not limited to citizens of EU-member states.

•A project can also be submitted to the STARTS Prize via Prix Ars Electronica.

Several special events are being planned to honour and showcase the projects singled out for recognition with a STARTS Prize:

•Awards ceremony

•Presentations featuring the prizewinning projects in the form of exhibitions and talks at the 2019 Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, the BOZAR in Brussels, Belgium and at Waag, Amsterdam

•Worldwide presentations featuring the prizewinning projects at various events of partner institutions


STARTS PRIZE: Previous STARTS Prize winners:

Entry deadline: March 1, 2019

See further information on our Ars Electronica Blog.